"War Times" (was Re: Merle Haggard.)

Xyxyxyyx (Xyxy) Xyyxyx xyxy at xxyyxy.xxx
Thu Sep 12 14:37:05 MDT 2002

War Times' website is www.war-times.org:

EDITORS: Jung Hee Choi, Max Elbaum, Arnoldo García, Ellen Kaiser, Elizabeth 
Martínez, Samuel Orozco
TRANSLATION: Mariana Bustamante, Gabriel Castillo, María Eraña, Claudia 
Gómez, Ricardo Ortega
ART DIRECTOR: Gerald Lenoir
COPY EDITING: Pat Soberanis, Karen Lenoir
BUSINESS: Linda Burnham, Rebecca Gordon, Felicia Gustin, MimiHo, Van Jones, 
Helen Kim, Mimi Ho
INTERN: Burton Li
DISTRIBUTION: Jan Adams, Louise Dunlop, Adam Gold, Hany Khalil, Ed Lee, 
Kerry Levenberg, Laura McNeill, Katherine Ulveling
IN MEMORIAM: Margo Sercarz, who helped launch War Times, passed away on 
March 28, 2002 at the age of 46. Margo was a lifelong fighter for peace and 
justice. She was loved for her deep commitment, unusual skill and generous 
spirit. We deeply miss her.

Organizations mentioned for identification purposes only.
Rodolfo Acuña, professor, Chicano Studies
Karin Aguilar-San Juan, author and professor, Macalester College
Michael Albert, Z/Znet
Michelle Alexander, ACLU of Northern California
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee, San Francisco Chapter
Asociación Tepeyac de New York
Jane Bai, executive director, CAAAV--Organizing Asian Communities
Hatem Bazian, director Al-Qalam Institute of Islamic Sciences
Frances Beal, national secretary, Black Radical Congress
Phyllis Bennis, Institute for Policy Studies
Larry Bensky, KPFA
Blase Bonpane, director, Office of the Americas
Paul Buhle, author and teacher, Brown University
Douglas Calvin, executive director, Youth Leadership Support Network
Nilo Cayuqueo, Abya Yala Fund for Indigenous Rights
Center for Political Education, San Francisco
Sue Chan, M.D., medical director, Oakland Asian Health Services
Pamela Chiang, environmental justice activist
Noam Chomsky, professor, MIT
Kathleen Cleaver, co-director, Human Rights Research Fund
Marilyn Clement, economic justice secretary, United Methodist Women's Division
Chris Crass, writer and activist
Joy Crocker, Church Women United
Hunter Cutting, executive director, We Interrupt This Message
Malkia Cyril, We Interrupt This Message
Barbara Dane, musician
Antonia Darder, Claremont Graduate University
Gary Delgado, executive director, Applied Research Center
Antonio Diaz, executive director, PODER
Junot Diaz, writer
Kim Diehl, co-director, Southerners on New Ground
Hari Dillon, president, Vanguard Foundation
Suzie Dod, assistant managing editor, Social Justice
Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, author and professor of womenís and ethnic studies
Louise Dunlap, Writing for Social Change
James Early, board chair, Institute for Policy Studies
Michael Eisenscher, Labor Committee for Peace and Justice
Kim Fellner, executive director, National Organizers Alliance
Bob Forsberg, editor, Sequoia Interreligious Newsmagazine
Frances Fox-Piven, author and professor, CUNY Graduate School
Freedom Road Socialist Organization
Paul George, director, Peninsula Peace and Justice Center
Joseph Gerson, organizer and educator
Fred Goff, Data Center
Chester Hartman, executive director, Poverty & Race Research Action Council
David Hartsough, Peacemakers
Francisco Herrera, cultural worker, Caminante
Phil Hutchings, racial justice activist
Ron Jacobs, Instant Antiwar Action Group
James Jennings, author and teacher, Tufts University
Joo-Hyun Kang, executive director, The Audre Lorde Project
Pam Kelly, director, Unitarian Universalists for a Just Economic Community
Hany Khalil, New York labor and community organizer
Mel King, activist
Yuri Kochiyama, activist
Chris Kromm, director, Institute for Southern Studies
Winona LaDuke, Indigenous Womenís Network
Nomy Lamm, queer writer/performer
Ying Lee, Peoples Non-Violent Response Coalition
Gerald Lenoir, board member, HIV Education and Prevention Project of 
Alameda County
Julie Light, managing editor, CorpWatch
Laura Livoti, managing director, National Radio Project
Yolanda López, visual artist
Brutha Los, artist/educator, Company of Prophets
Miriam Ching Yoon Louie, activist and author of Sweatshop Warriors
Barbara Lubin, executive director, Middle East Childrens Alliance
Melba Maldonado, executive director, La Raza Information Center
Eric Mann, executive director, Labor Community Strategy Center
Esperanza Martell, ProLibertad
Sharon Martinas, Challenging White Supremacy Workshops
Stephen McNeil, American Friends Service Committee
Sara Mersha, executive director, Direct Action for Rights and Equality
Metro DC Chapter, Committees of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism
Juana Alicia Montoya, artist
Richard Moore, executive director, Southwest Network for Economic and 
Environmental Justice
Cherríe Moraga, author
Iris Morales, educator and filmmaker
Steve Morse, board member, Central Committee for Conscientious Objectors
Nancy Nadel, Oakland city councilperson
Gus Newport, former mayor of Berkeley
Peter Olney, Institute for Labor and Employment
Samuel Orozco, Radio Bilingue
Richie Perez, Justice Committee/National Congress for Puerto Rican Rights
Jeff Perlstein, executive director, Media Alliance
Vijay Prashad, author and professor, Trinity College
Eric Quezada, SF Mission District organizer
Colin Rajah, executive director, Just Act
Adrienne Rich, poet
Bruce Richard, vice president, 1199 SEIU
Wilson Riles, former city councilperson and progressive Oakland mayoral 
Luz Rodriguez, co-director, Center to Support Immigrant Organizing
David Roediger, labor historian
Stephen Rohde, civil liberties lawyer and writer
Loretta Ross, executive director, National Center for Human Rights Education
June Rostan, executive director, Southern Empowerment Project
Jerome Scott, executive director, Project South: Institute for the 
Elimination of Poverty & Genocide Seminarians for Peace
Indu Shukla, writer and thinker
Irwin Silber, writer
Andrea Smith, Incite! Women of Color Against Violence
Abdi Soltani, executive director, Californians for Justice
Dona Spring, Berkeley city councilperson
Students for Justice in Palestine
Julia Sudbury, ethnic studies chair, Mills College
Judy Talaugon, Chumash/Cebuano, Atajes Art & Cultural Resources
Makani Themba-Nixon, The Praxis Project
Anthony Thigpenn, Strategy Concepts in Organizing and Policy Education
Piri Thomas, poet, activist, author
Mark Toney, executive director, Center for Third World Organizing
Walter Turner, board president, Global Exchange
Karen Wald, journalist
Al Weinrub, Chair, National Writers Union (UAW Local 1981), Bay Area
Elizabeth Wilcox, Common Counsel
Ruth H. Wilson, Coordinator, Committee for International Human Rights Inquiry
Tim Wise, anti-racism activist and writer
Linda Wolf, photographer/author/director, The Daughters Sisters
Helen Zia, writer and co-author of Wen Ho Lee's story
Howard Zinn, historian and author of A People's History of the United States

PLEASE clip all extraneous text before replying to a message.

More information about the Marxism mailing list