[Marxism] Deutscher Prize: Who Moderates the Moderator?

Louis Proyect lnp3 at panix.com
Mon Nov 28 16:52:08 MST 2005

>After all, one could consider the fact that an ISO member won the prize in 
>2002, i.e. after the acrimonious split between the ISO and the SWP, while 
>an SWP member won the prize (jointly) in 2003 to be a sign that 
>non-sectarian criteria are uppermost in the minds of the jury members.

Honestly, I am beginning to wonder what criteria they have in mind after I 
discovered today--to my dismay--that Francis Wheen got an award for his 
book on Marx. This book is distinguished by its breezy style and wit, but 
not by the profundity of its insights.

>You seem to find the fact that 3 of the six awards in the last 5 years 
>went to supporters of what IIRC you elsewhere call a non-Marxist current - 
>very non-sectarian of you I must say (sometime vocal anti-sectarians are 
>the most sectarian of all!) - to be highly suspicious.

I really have no beef with an award being given to Neil Davidson (I really 
am unfamiliar with Kelly's work.) If I do discover, however, that these two 
have been posting messages to alt.politics.socialism.trotsky that Kim has 
eating the fingers and toes of his opponents, then I might have to reconsider.

>I must say, in general, that your reaction to the award of the Deutscher 
>Prize to Kevin Murphy has greatly disappointed me. Both you and Kevin 
>Murphy spouted some dreadful bullshit over the years in APST, as did many 
>other denizens of that rather murky episode of political Usenet history. 
>That you should rake over these coals now, when over the years you refused 
>to believe that Murphy was even engaged in writing the doctoral thesis 
>that is the basis of this book, seems to me to be a bit of a case of sour 

Yes, I am surprised that he ever finished a dissertation since he never 
posting anything to apst except filthy Stalinophobic ravings. 

More information about the Marxism mailing list