[Marxism] For fans of Dennis Brutus - WRL award tonight in NYC

Patrick Bond pbond at mail.ngo.za
Fri Sep 18 07:16:20 MDT 2009

(Below the announcement is an excerpt of tonight's program for the War 
Resisters' League in NYC. Though he is battling cancer, a very vigorous 
Dennis Brutus will beam in from Cape Town, and looks forward to personal 
discussions with his comrades and friends over dinner, as a laptop skype 
connection will be available at the table hosted by Silvia Federici and 
George Caffentzis. Jennifer Davis and Kassahun Checole will interview 
Dennis, who says he cherishes the recognition of the Peace Award, shared 
with two fantastic groups based in his hometown of Harare: Women of 
Zimbabwe Arise, and Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe. If you can get to the 
Judson Church at 6:30pm tonight, you will still find some tickets 
available, at $44, and $22 low-income. It is a great organization, and a 
memorable evening ahead.)

Vinie Burrows, Kassahun Checole, Imani Countess, Jennifer Davis, Kenyon 
Farrow, Silvia Federici & George Caffentzis, Haymarket Books, Jean & 
George Houser, Chaz Maviyane, Liz Mestres, Matt Meyer & Meg Starr, Sonia 
Sanchez, Bill Sutherland & Marilyn Meyer invite you to attend the

War Resisters League’s
44th Annual Peace Award

Stubborn Hope:
Celebrating the Ongoing Struggles for Justice and Peace in Southern Africa

Honoring the Work of
Dennis Brutus,
Women of Zimbabwe Arise (WOZA),
and Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ)

September 18, 2009 · 6:30 pm
Judson Memorial Church
55 Washington Square South · New York City

WRL will honor the work of Dennis Brutus, WOZA, and GALZ both by hearing 
about their vital campaigns and activities and sharing food and 
conversation, as we further weave our movements and celebrate our victories.

We will enjoy an African dinner at 6:30, followed by a program and award 
ceremony at 8:00 including poetry by Fungai Maboreke, Mahina Movement 
and Vinie Burrows, Shona music of Zimbabwe by Mbira New York and songs 
by member of the Freedom Singers, Matt Jones.

We will also give the Grace Paley Lifetime Achievement Award to WW II 
conscientious objector, longtime WRL member and Pan Africanist leader 
Bill Sutherland.

Tickets are $44 ($22 for low income, unemployed, senior, students)

About the Awardees:

Dennis Brutus was an anti-apartheid activist from within South Africa 
beginning in the 1960s and played a leading role in the international 
sports boycott that led to South Africa’s ban from the Olympic Games. An 
award-winning author, he fled the country after serving a jail term for 
his political activity and was eventually granted political refugee 
status in the United States, where he worked as professor of Africana 
Studies at the University of Pittsburgh. A champion of many causes, he 
most recently has been an outspoken campaigner against neoliberalism and 
globalization, teaching at the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Center for 
Civil Society.

Women of Zimbabwe Arise (WOZA) was founded in 2003 to provide women from 
all walks of life with a united voice to speak out on issues affecting 
their day-to-day lives. Empowering female leadership and community 
involvement in pressing for solution to the political and economic 
crisis currently facing Zimbabwe, WOZA has called for “tough love” based 
on the principles of strategic nonviolence.
With a national membership of over 70,000 women and men, WOZA has 
defined tough love as a “people power” tool that “any community can use 
to press for better governance and social justice.”

Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ) was formed in 1990 to provide gay 
men and lesbians in Zimbabwe with a network to facilitate communication 
within the gay community. Gaining international attention some years 
later when the government of Robert Mugabe banned the group from a 
prominent Pan African book fair, GALZ has always emphasized the 
importance of understanding that “sexual rights are human rights.” 
Working closely with other human rights organizations, the women’s 
movement, AIDS initiatives, and regional associates, GALZ is working 
around integrating gay rights with the other basic human rights for 
which Zimbabwean civil society is currently battling. GALZ members 
edited the book Unspoken Facts: A History of Homosexualities in Africa; 
GALZ also serves on the Council of War Resisters’ International.

For more information about the Peace Award please visit our website, 
www.warresisters.org, or call 212.228.0450

War Resisters League | 339 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10012 |
212.228.0450 | wrl at warresisters.org |www.warresisters.org



Celebrating the Ongoing Struggles for
Justice and Peace in Southern Africa

The War Resisters League’s
44th Annual Peace Award Dinner
honoring the work of Dennis Brutus,
Women of Zimbabwe Arise (WOZA),
and Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ)

Friday, September 18, 2009, 6:30 pm
Judson Memorial Church, New York City

As Dennis Brutus sat in his prison cell on South Africa’s notorious 
Robben Island, he penned the poem “Stubborn Hope” as a way of 
broadcasting to the world that the struggle would go on, even from 
behind bars. In the very same cage that had housed Mahatma Gandhi in 
Johannesburg's Fort Prison, and again later with colleague Nelson 
Mandela in an adjacent room at Robben Island, Brutus pledged his life to 
resistance and poetry and has been combining both ever since. The War 
Resisters League is pleased to bestow our annual Peace Award on Dennis 
Brutus, Women of Zimbabwe Arise, and Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe—all 
demonstrating with stubborn hope the idea that lasting liberation and 
peace will come for all people.

War Resisters League 2009 Peace Award

To Dennis Brutus, South African Poet and Freedom Fighter
Women of Zimbabwe Arise (WOZA)
and Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ)



Mbira New York

Imani Countess and Matt Meyer

Presentation of Grace Paley Lifetime Achievement Award to Bill Sutherland
Accepted by Rachel Sutherland-Phillips

Conversation with Dennis Brutus via Videophone
Kassahun Checole and Jennifer Davis

Matt Jones

Presentation of WRL Peace Award to Gays and Lesbians of Zimbabwe
Accepted by Kenyon Farrow

Fungai Oliver Maboreke

Presentation of WRL Peace Award to Women of Zimbabwe Arise
Accepted by Sadie Healy

A Word About the War Resisters League
Liz Roberts

Music and Poetry
Mahina Movement

Statements from Supporters

Vinie Burrows

Presentation of WRL Peace Award to Dennis Brutus
Accepted by Dennis Brutus (video)


The War Resisters League Peace Award

Intended to honor an organization or person whose work represents WRL’s 
radical nonviolent platform of action, the award was first given in 1958 
to Jeannette Rankin, the only congressperson to vote against U.S. entry 
into both world wars. Subsequent awardees have included civil rights 
activists Bayard Rustin and Bob Moses, political folksingers Odetta and 
Pete Seeger, poet-priest Daniel Berrigan, military resisters from both 
Gulf wars, and Fernando Suarez del Solar of Military Families Speak Out, 
along with groups like Vietnam Veterans Against the War and the 
Committee for the Rescue and Development of Vieques. Speakers at Peace 
Award events have included Nobel laureates Martin Luther King Jr. and 
Pearl S. Buck, poet Allen Ginsberg, and labor organizer A. Philip Randolph.

The War Resisters League affirms that all war is a crime against 
humanity. We are determined not to support any kind of war, 
international or civil, and to strive nonviolently for the removal of 
the causes of war, including racism, sexism, and all forms of human 

War Resisters League
339 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10012
(212) 228-0450

More information about the Marxism mailing list